We have 🍪Cookies! More information
  • More information in our Privacy Statement

Twee
Sluit
Sluit

Before / After zooms in on small and everyday things.

37 ordinary people go about their daily activities. Yet, in Before/ After you see something very small shift in all of their lives which makes it impossible to continue living as they did before. The universe of small, recognizable stories of the play Vorher/Nachher by Roland Schimmelpfennig come to life, with a cast of 37 actors, dancers, musicians, and cinematographers.

 

 

After winning the Dutch Regieprijs (best director) for Salam and glowing reviews for Brave New World 2.0, Guy Weizman is back with his latest production: Before/After. In Before/After, the audience witnesses a film being made live on stage which literally zooms in on the body and life of an elderly woman.

 

“We are accustomed to films and theater being about something epic and huge. But our daily life is mostly the small things from your small life. And hiding right behind these small things is what makes us profoundly human.” – Guy Weizman

After big stories about our fascination for the suffering of others (Carrousel), the conflict between world religions (Salam) and the future of humanity (Brave New World 2.0), director Guy Weizman zooms in with Before/After to focus on small and everyday things. Most lives may not be epic or thrilling, but that does not make them less interesting. It’s quite possible that our deepest selves only truly reveal themselves in our everyday lives. In a visual, poetic mosaic with a large cast of dancers, singers and actors, a universe of small, recognizable stories is brought to life with overflowing emotion.

 

credits

Guy Weizman

Regisseur

Roland Schimmelpfennig

Auteur

Roni Haver

Choreograaf

Ascon de Nijs

Decorontwerper

Luke Deane

Componist

Maarten van Rossem

Lichtontwerper

Tom Kleijn

Vertaler

tourlist

Sep
Mon 20 Sep 20:15
Agenda

Before/After

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Oct
Thu 28 Oct 20:15
Agenda

Before/After try-out

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Fri 29 Oct 20:15
Agenda

Before/After

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Sat 30 Oct 20:15
Agenda

Before/After

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Nov
Wed 17 Nov 20:30
Agenda

Before/After

Parktheater Eindhoven
Fri 19 Nov 20:00
Agenda

Before/After

Wilminktheater Enschede
Tue 23 Nov 19:30
Agenda

Before/After

Internationaal Theater Amsterdam
Wed 24 Nov 19:30
Agenda

Before/After

Internationaal Theater Amsterdam
Thu 25 Nov 19:30
Agenda

Before/After

Internationaal Theater Amsterdam
Sat 27 Nov 20:15
Agenda

Before/After

Theater Rotterdam,Schouwburg
Tue 30 Nov 20:15
Agenda

Before/After

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Dec
Wed 1 Dec 20:15
Agenda

Before/After

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Thu 2 Dec 20:15
Agenda

Before/After

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Fri 3 Dec 20:15
Agenda

Before/After

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Tue 7 Dec 20:15
Agenda

Before/After

Koninklijke Schouwburg Den Haag
Wed 8 Dec 20:15
Agenda

Before/After

Koninklijke Schouwburg Den Haag
Fri 10 Dec 20:00
Agenda

Before/After

Stadsschouwburg Utrecht
Tue 14 Dec 20:00
Agenda

Before/After

Zwolse Theaters - De Spiegel
Fri 17 Dec 20:30
Agenda

Before/After

Stadsschouwburg De Harmonie Leeuwarden

Feed

NITE Delivery: More is more

28 04 2021

SWANJA

22 09 2020

FridayNITE w/ Vaneen Label: Gido Lahuis, Anton Lambert & more

10 02 2020

FridayNITE w/ Idiott Smith + Atoomclub + Introduction to Dear Winnie,

04 02 2020
More feeds

Sign up for our digital newsletters. Get an update on tour dates, behind the scenes and other interesting suggestions.