Coming soon: OCEAN BREEZE | NITENITE
Sluit
Sluit

Coming soon: Ocean Breeze, the latest NITE performance, directed by Mart van Berckel.

Ocean Breeze

Imagine a woman who seemingly has everything: a job that she loves, a nice apartment, a loving son. But one day she faints at work. Nobody knows what it is, but there is clearly something wrong, she is suffering from an inexplicable disease. Maybe she is allergic to the twenty-first century. 

Her struggle with the disease is at odds with the narrative she has been fed all her life: as long as you work hard enough, everything will be fine. 

Joined by a live percussionist, the NITE ensemble embody this candid and sometimes surreal journey, a rollercoaster ride that feels like scrolling through a social media feed. It is a story about a body that does not fit the norm, is looking for company and fighting to be taken seriously. 

Ocean Breeze takes the audience to the heart of what it means to be person in today’s society. It’s inspired by Todd Haynes, Yolanda Hadid, Kim Kardashian, Olivia Laing, Audre Lorde, Nan Goldin, David Wojnarowicz, and others who publicly struggle/have struggled with illness.  

“Sometimes you look around and think: this world is not for me; I don’t fit into this system, not into this social environment, not into this family. That feeling, and the loneliness that comes with fighting those systems, is at the heart of Ocean Breeze. And in the space between those systems, there is room for fantasy. And a lot of humor.” – Mart van Berckel, director Ocean Breeze

Mart van Berckel

As a director, Mart uses a method that comparable to that of a visual artist or a composer. He creates ‘sensory theater trips’ with great precision: poetic compositions of image, light, movement, text, sound and music.

His history with NITE and Club Guy & Roni is certainly not limited: previously he made SEVEN LAST SONGS, All that Follows, the Parade hit CARRY/JUMP/CATCH and his first touring NITE production: My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia.

Ocean Breeze: the playlist

Inspired by music from the show, Ocean Breeze composer Mauro Casarini put together the playlist below. From legendary 80’s to the rise of synthipop in the early 00’s.

Language no problem

NITE tours with surtitles. That way, we can make Ocean Breeze suitable for people who do not speak Dutch but can read English.

credits

Mart van Berckel

Regie

Lisanne van Aert

Tekst

Vera Selhorst

Decor- en lichtontwerp

Rosa Schützendorf

Kostuumontwerp

Mauro Casarini

Componist

Friederike Schubert

Dramaturgie

tourlist

Sep
Mon 30 Sep 20:15
Agenda

Ocean Breeze (public rehearsal)

Theater de Machinefabriek Groningen
Oct
Thu 17 Oct 20:30
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Theater de Machinefabriek Groningen
Fri 18 Oct 20:30
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Theater de Machinefabriek Groningen
Sat 19 Oct 20:30
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Theater de Machinefabriek Groningen
Wed 23 Oct 20:30
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Stadstheater Arnhem
Thu 24 Oct 20:15
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Theater en Filmhuis Dakota Den Haag
Fri 25 Oct 20:30
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Theater Bellevue Amsterdam
Sat 26 Oct 20:30
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Theater Bellevue Amsterdam
Wed 30 Oct 20:15
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Theater Speelhuis Helmond
Thu 31 Oct 20:30
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Theater De Nieuwe Vorst Tilburg
Nov
Tue 5 Nov 20:30
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Stadsschouwburg Utrecht
Wed 6 Nov 20:30
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Stadsschouwburg Utrecht
Fri 8 Nov 20:30
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Parktheater Eindhoven
Sat 9 Nov 20:30
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

LUX Nijmegen
Tue 19 Nov 20:15
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Theater aan de Parade Den Bosch
Thu 21 Nov 20:00
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Corrosia Theater Almere
Tue 26 Nov 20:15
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Posthuis Theater Heerenveen
Thu 28 Nov 20:15
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Theater aan het Spui Den Haag
Fri 29 Nov 20:30
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Theater Ins Blau Leiden
Sat 30 Nov 20:30
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Chassé Theater Breda
Dec
Mon 2 Dec 20:30
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Theater de Machinefabriek Groningen
Tue 3 Dec 20:30
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Theater de Machinefabriek Groningen
Wed 4 Dec 20:30
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Theater de Machinefabriek Groningen
Fri 6 Dec 20:30
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

De Schuur Haarlem
Sat 7 Dec 20:30
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

De Nieuwe Kolk Assen
Wed 11 Dec 20:30
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Stadsschouwburg De Harmonie Leeuwarden
Fri 13 Dec 20:30
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Deventer Schouwburg
Sat 14 Dec 20:30
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Meervaart Theater Amsterdam
Tue 17 Dec 20:30
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Zwolse Theaters - De Spiegel
Wed 18 Dec 20:15
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

Schouwburg Ogterop Meppel
Thu 19 Dec 20:30
Agenda

OCEAN BREEZE

CC Amstel Amsterdam

Stay in the know on all things NITE and when we’re around! Keep me updated

By giving my e-mail address, I give permission to be kept informed by e-mail about the performances and activities of NITE + Club Guy & Roni

Stay in the know on all things NITE and when we’re around!

Stay in the know
By giving my e-mail address, I give permission to be kept informed by e-mail about the performances and activities of NITE + Club Guy & Roni